Ferrero Rocher Layered Cheese Cake (金莎千层奶酪蛋糕)

IMG_0151

INTRODUCTION

I do not know who started this recipe but it is a very simple, delicious recipe which is versatile.. Apparently it is very common in Sarawak and many household knows how to do it…

IMG_0154

During Chinese New Year when I was back to Sarawak, the family visited one of my relatives who served us this delicious cheese cake… My kids kept eating the cheesecake and I scolded them for lacking of manners… My relative knew that the kids like it, have told me verbally how it was prepared (not the exact recipe) and gave me 2 packets of cheese biscuits. She asked me to prepare for them..

IMG_0176

The cheese biscuit is from Khong Guan, Indonesia and I am not sure if it is available in Singapore and some friends said that they have seen in Geylang Serai. …  But do not be discouraged by this special ingredient and as far as I am concerned, any cheesy biscuits from any brand (for example Julie or Nabisco) or non cheesy biscuits such as soda crackers, Marie biscuits were all acceptable. Wafer is another good alternative…

IMG_0171

Though this recipe is ultra simple, but I have decided to blog this because it suits my taste bud. I honestly believed Singaporean and West Malaysians will like this biscuit layered cheese cake for 2 simple reasons: Simple and delicious. Though Sarawak is part of Malaysia and very close to Singapore, I found that there are a lot of simple unique recipes that have not been shared to West Malaysia and Singapore.. Possibly this recipe originates from Indonesia? I am equally puzzled..

IMG_0143

Based on what my relative have told me, I have decided to design my own recipe after taking into consideration the taste buds of my Singaporean and West Malaysian readers.. Ferreror Rocher were added to enhance the taste and give the cheese cakes some bits to bite.. Unbelievably, my family finished the entire cheesecake within an hour as this recipe yields a small cheesecake suitable to a family of 4 or 5. With the leftover cream cheese, I have prepared another box of cheese cake. It set beautifully within about 3 hours 

IMG_0166


WHAT IS REQUIRED

Servings: One tray of 5”x5” x 1.5 “ cheesecake

IMG_0072

  • 250 grams of cream cheese – softened at room temperature
  • 200 grams of condensed milk
  • 25 grams of butter –softened at room temperature
  • 100 grams (half pack) of Saltcheese crackers (can be replaced by any type of crackers or wafers) – Estimated depending on size of your biscuit
  • 6 pieces of Ferreror Rocher chocolates (optional)
  • 2 tablespoons of lemon juice

IMG_0145


STEPS OF PREPARATION

  • Lightly greased a plastic container (with cover) of 5”x5” with some butter or lined the containers with some aluminium foil or baking paper.

IMG_0077

  • Cream the butter, cream cheese, condensed milk and lemon juice until light and creamy.

  • Place a layer of the biscuit into the greased or lined container.

IMG_0083

  • Spread  3-4 tablespoons of the cream cheese evenly on the biscuits . Crack two Ferrero Rocher on the cream cheese and place another layer of biscuits.  Spread 3-4 tablespoons of cream cheese on the biscuits. Perform the same procedures until all the cream cheese are used up. For this illustration, I have 3 layers of biscuits in the cheese cake. Level the cream cheese, cover the container and chill the cheesecake until set (about 4 hours).

IMG_0149

Note:

  • Instead of using the biscuits as suggested, you can use any other type of biscuits. As a general rule of thumb, it should be a biscuit of lighter texture.

  • Some recipes called for soaking of biscuits in the milk. I do not intend to perform the step as the biscuits will become mushy. In addition, the water will hinder the setting of the cream cheese. For this recipe, the moisture in the cream cheese will moisten the biscuits.

  • Ferrero Rocher will transform this simple cheesecake into a classy cake.. But this is optional. You can always totally omit it or substitute with Nestum  cereal or even cookies crumbs. My second container used cookies crumbs which goes very well with the cheesecake.

  • If you want to expedite the chilling process, you can put the cheesecake in the freezer.

IMG_0147


CONCLUSION

As all can see, this is a very versatile and simple recipe but yields a great taste.…  In essence you are eating sweetened pure cream cheese.. Who can say no to such a piece of creamy cheesy cheesecake and do play around with your creativity to design one that suits your family’s taste bud.

IMG_0160

Hope you like the post today. Cheers and have a nice day.

IMG_0165


 

IMG_0139

 

7 thoughts on “Ferrero Rocher Layered Cheese Cake (金莎千层奶酪蛋糕)

  1. Dear Kenneth,
    I have recently bought your book and I realized $5 have been deducted but I have not received the book.
    Can you please tell me how to collect the book.
    Thank you

Leave a comment