Salted Egg Yolk Cookies (蛋黄酥饼)

IMG_7060

INTRODUCTION

My Chinese cookies post should almost come to an end in a few days and I will be concentrating to bake my Chinese New Year cookies. Meanwhile, I have many savoury dishes recipes lined up for the readers…Some will include the usage of excessive egg whites that you have while baking Chinese New Year recipes.

IMG_7056

In recent years, salted egg yolk cookies are rather common after being promoted by other bloggers though I have only seen it this year. Imagining the taste, I tell myself I must give it a try since I have all the ingredients at home..

IMG_7072

After baking so many cookies for these two years, to be exact at least 30-40 types of cookies, I believed that I can easily come out with a recipe that is acceptable to suit my taste buds.

IMG_7080

My experiment was extremely rewarding, it is a really melt in the mouth cookies that have some buttery salted egg yolk taste. I really loved this sandy cookie as it tastes rather different from the others.

IMG_7078


WHAT IS REQUIRED

Servings: About 50 small cookies

IMG_7012

  • 2 salted cooked egg yolk (if uses salted raw egg yolk, will need to steam until firmed)
  • 60 grams of butter
  • 70 grams of plain flour or all purpose flour
  • 30 grams of milk powder
  • 30 grams of potatoes starch
  • 30 grams of icing sugar
  • 1 egg yolk for egg washing
  • 2 tablespoons of sesame seeds for decorating

IMG_7084


STEPS OF PREPARATION

  • Pre-heat oven to 165 degree Celsius.

IMG_7020

  • Cream the butter, icing sugar and salted egg yolk until light and fluffy. Sift in all the flours (milk powder, potatoes starch and plain flour). Fold until it form a pliable dough. Transfer to a lightly floured surface. Roll to about 1 cm thickness.

IMG_7025

  • Use your preferred mould to mould the dough. Transfer to the baking tray. Egg wash (1 egg yolk with 2 drop of water) and sprinkle with some sesame seeds (Black or white). Bake in the pre-heated oven for 12-15 minutes for 165 degree Celsius. Let the cookies rest in the baking tray completely before store in an air tight container. Note that this cookies is very fragile when it is hot. Even when cooled, handle with care as it is sandy and melt in the mouth.

Note

  • This is a rather sticky dough, pat your hands or dust the dough with more flour during shaping. You may need to floured the mould too before shaping.

IMG_7066


CONCLUSION

Another simple recipe and I did not regret preparing this. It is a rather rich cookie as salted egg yolk blends extremely well with butter as opposed to the use of vegetable shortening. The cookies are supposed to be sandy and melt in the mouth with salted egg yolk buttery aroma.

IMG_7064

For more Chinese New Year related cookies, snack and steamed cake recipes, you can have a copy of Easy Chinese New Year Recipes – A step by step guide” that was packed with 30 recipes, 60 pages at a reasonable convenience fee of USD3.50. The recipes covered various recipes from auspicious radish cake to nian gao to traditional kuih bangkit to trendy London almond cookies. Of course not forgetting both type of pineapple tarts. You can purchase by clicking the link above. You can either pay using Pay Pal or Credit card account. Please ensure that you have an PDF reader like Acrobat or iBooks in your mobile phone or iPad if you intended to read it in your ipad or mobile phone. Should there be any problems of purchasing, feel free to contact me at kengls@singnet.com.sg and separate arrangement can be made.

coverlow-final5722[2]

Hope you like the post today. Cheers and have a nice day.

IMG_7074

 


I’m submitting this post to Best Recipes for Everyone Jan & Feb 2015 Event Theme: My Homemade Cookies organized by Fion of XuanHom’s Mom and co-hosted by Victoria Bakes

 

Best_Recipes


IMG_7058

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Salted Egg Yolk Cookies (蛋黄酥饼)

  1. mmmm! this cookie look really short! i’m sure i will love this texture.. looking forward to your recipes on utilising those excessive eggwhites 🙂

    thank you for supporting Best Recipes once again 😀

  2. i am looking for salted egg yolk pistachio cookies and i found this. can i just add-on pistachio but how to ensure it’s not too dry after adding the nuts?

  3. I am so happy to find this recipe. I used to buy these cookies for CNY but subsequently lost contact with the seller. Now that I’ve started baking, I can finally bake them myself! Can I just double the recipe if I want to bake more? Thanks in advance for your advice 🙂

  4. 请问为什么牛油饼原本按花还算可以的,可是烤了出来都跑型了呢?颜色也变成偏白一点呢?好奇的我。。

  5. Pingback: Special Compilation Of Chinese New Year Cookies, Snacks And Cakes Recipes | GUAI SHU SHU

  6. Pingback: Salted Egg Cookies | Baking Language

  7. Pingback: RECIPE INDEX ( Updated on 13 March 2015) | GUAI SHU SHU

  8. Pingback: Salted Egg Yolk Custard Moon Cake Fillings (咸蛋奶皇月饼馅料) | GUAI SHU SHU

Leave a comment