Vegetarian Matcha Almond Muffins (绿茶杏仁小松饼)

IMG_21781

INTRODUCTION

If you like Japanese green tea – Matcha, you will like this muffin. This recipe is an eggless, butter less and milk less recipe specially designed for vegetarians

IMG_21841

It is a pure, aromatic matcha flavour muffin and  the fragrance was not masked by butter and eggs. However, if you want to have eggs and butter fragrance, feel free to use my other earlier muffin recipes and add 1-2 tablespoons of matcha powder. Then the matcha flavour will not be that distinct.

IMG_2199

I have to be frank that I am not happy with the colour inside the muffins. After baking, it turned slight brownish and I am puzzle why some of the images in the internet appeared to be bright green!

IMG_2208

Out of curiosity, I prepared another batch of muffins with a slight twist of adding 2 tablespoons of vinegar. Yes, the outcome is encouraging with a green interior.  It somehow “confirm” my suspicion that without green colouring in the recipe, acidic medium like lemon juice or vinegar may be able to inhibit the oxidation of green tea and prevent colour changes. However, this shall not be construed as a confirmation since the experiment was not done in a scientific manner.

IMG_21881

In this recipe, I have adjusted to add 2 tablespoons of the lemon juice or vinegar to the batter and I hope that the final colour are greener than what is in my illustration here. Some may be wondering about whether the taste will blend! Surprising, the vinegar flavour is not distinct at all. It remain the same flavour as the first batch.

IMG_21861

The muffins are healthier, definitely edible. For those who prefer a stronger flavour, you can add additional 1/2 tablespoon more of matcha powder but I have to caution that adding too much matcha powder may make the muffins bitter.

IMG_21821


WHAT IS REQUIRED

Servings: Prepared 5-6 cupcake size muffins

IMG_2166

  • 200 grams of self raising flour
  • 135 grams of sugar
  • 50 grams of almond flakes or almond nibs
  • 75 grams of cooking oil
  • 100 grams of plain water
  • 1-1.5 tablespoons of matcha green tea powder
  • 2 tablespoons of lemon juice or vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda

IMG_21951


STEPS OF PREPARATION

  • Pre-heat oven to 170 degree Celsius.

IMG_2171

  • Shift the flour, baking soda and green tea powder in a mixing bowl. Add all other dry ingredients. Make a well in the centre. Add in the cooking oil and water in 3 stages. Use a knife or fork to lightly mix it. Slight lump is acceptable. Transfer to the cupcake cups and bake in the pre-heated oven of 170 degrees for 25-30 minutes until a skewer inserted comes out clean. Note that timing will very much depends on the size of your muffins. Final test is the skewer test. To avoid browning too fast, placed the muffins at the lowest rack of the oven.

IMG_21901


CONCLUSION

I have to be frank with you that today, I have in fact prepared 3 batches of muffins. The first batch is with milk, eggs and butters. However, I am unhappy with the interior colour and the weak matcha flavour, I have decided to prepare the second batch. For the second batch, I have transformed it to a vegetarian version of excluding eggs, butter and milk in the muffins. The taste is okay but the interior is slightly brownish that make me try to make the third batch by adding some vinegar to the batter. Yes the third batch meet my expectations, both in terms of colour, texture and taste. The headache I have now is my house is full of muffins now… to be exact, 18 muffins but none shall be thrown away……

Hope you like the post today. Cheers and have a nice day.

IMG_21931


  • For more recipes, you can refer to my RECIPE INDEX (updated as at 8 June 2014)  here and you can follow me at PINTEREST or visit the blog’s FACEBOOK PAGE to keep abreast of my future posts.  

IMG_21801

6 thoughts on “Vegetarian Matcha Almond Muffins (绿茶杏仁小松饼)

  1. Mr Kenneth may I check with you the ingredient prepared should be baking powder or baking soda as the method in number 2 showed baking soda. Your advice please thank you.

  2. Pingback: RECIPE INDEX ( Updated on 16 AUGUST 2014) | GUAI SHU SHU

  3. Hey Mr Goh,

    I am so happy to come across this recipie of your’s as i’m on a strict diet and there are many things i cant eat. Can i ask where you got your matcha powder? Also for the cooking oil, do you think cold pressed organic olive oil will work or will it make the muffin taste weird. If i were to make it into a vanilla flavour muffin, will the measurement be still the same 1-1.5 tablespoon vanilla extract? Sorry to ask so many questions.

    Many thanks,
    Val

  4. Pingback: RECIPE INDEX ( Updated on 13 March 2015) | GUAI SHU SHU

Leave a comment