Chocolate Cream Cheese Chiffon Cake (巧克力奶酪戚风蛋糕)

IMG_8712

INTRODUCTION

Hmmm, I baked a cream cheese chocolate chiffon cake. It was a successful bake. However, when I unmould , I broke the cake。Then I thought I might used up my leftover mirror glaze chocolate frosting to cover my “fault”. Somehow, being in a frustrated mood, I poured the chocolate frosting to the cake when it is too hot (in order for the chocolate frosting to stay in the cake, it should be at about our body temperature)…making the cake too wet. When I cut, the cake became less spongy, a bit soggy and messy.. It is definitely a wrong decision! However, I managed to salvage 2 pieces for picture taking and frankly speaking, the picture did not do justice to the cake.

IMG_87001

When I posted my pictures to the Facebook Food group, apparently, members of the Group can take this imperfections and asked for recipe. That is the reason that make me issued this post. Trust me, there is nothing wrong with the recipe and steps of illustration, it is my negligence on the handling of the cake. Following the recipe closely will definitely yield you a nice chocolaty cream cheese chiffon cake.

IMG_87041

The cake is moister than most chiffon due to the heavier cream cheese used. I found that it is especially nice after keeping it in the fridge for a few hours. In fact, it is very much like the Japanese cheese cake.

IMG_86981


WHAT IS REQUIRED

Servings: Prepared a 19 cm chiffon tube pan chiffon cake

IMG_8670

Ingredient A – For egg yolk batter portion

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 80 grams  of sifted self raising flour
  • 30 grams of butter
  • 80 grams of cream cheese
  • 80 grams of fresh milk.
  • 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder

Ingredients B – For egg white beating

  • 5 egg whites
  • 85 grams of castor sugar
  • 1 tsp. of cream of tartar

IMG_86941


STEPS OF PREPARATION

  • Get ready a 19cm chiffon tube pan. PLEASE DO NOT GREASE THE CHIFFON TUBE PAN.

  • Pre heat the oven to 175 degree Celsius.

IMG_8675

  • Melt the butter, cream cheese and milk in a microwaveable bowl for about 1 minutes. Stir until well mixed and set aside. If you do not have a microwave oven, just heat up using double boiler method (oven a pot of hot water) until melted and well mixed.

  • Sift in the chocolate and self raising flour, stir until well combine. Gradually add in the egg yolks one by one. Stir until well mixed and set aside for later use.

IMG_8680

  • Beat the egg whites in a standing mixer until foamy. Add in 85 grams of castor sugar and 1 teaspoon of cream of tartar. Beat the egg whites until stiff peak form. 

PicMonkey Collage1

  • Fold in the egg whites in 3 stages to the egg yolk mixture as swiftly and as lightly as possible.

IMG_8690

  • Transfer the batter to the ungreased chiffon cake tin and baked in the oven at 175 degree Celsius for 45-50 minutes or when a skewer inserted comes out clean. In the event that the top starts to turn brown too soon, you can lower the temperature to 160 degree Celsius and continue the baking.
  • Once ready, take out from the oven, invert upside down over a wire rack and let it cool completely. To unmould, use a sharp knife to scrap the sides or use hands to slightly “peel” the chiffon cake. A successful and properly baked chiffon cake should be spongy enough for you to “peel” from the tin without breaking the cake. Cut using a serrated knife when completely cooled.

  • If you are interested in the Mirror Glaze chocolate frosting, you can refer to this post: Chocolate Mirror Glaze Recipe (镜面巧克力蛋糕装饰)

IMG_87021


CONCLUSION

Pardon me for the poor picture. Do give some confidence on this recipe. This is a rather moist chiffon and I am sure you will like it if you give it a chance. When time permits, I will prepare another cream cheese chocolate chiffon and I will have a separate section of photo taking.

IMG_86961

Hope you like the post today. Cheers and have a nice day.

IMG_86921


  • For more recipes, you can refer to my RECIPE INDEX (updated as at 21 March 2014)  here and you can follow me at PINTEREST or visit the blog’s FACEBOOK PAGE to keep abreast of my future posts.  

IMG_87121

11 thoughts on “Chocolate Cream Cheese Chiffon Cake (巧克力奶酪戚风蛋糕)

  1. Pingback: RECIPE INDEX ( Updated on 26 June 2014) | GUAI SHU SHU

  2. Not sure why the cake that I made wouldn’t rise. Is it because I used the aerating mode on the electric mixer instead of beating to beat the egg white?

    • I am unsure, but generally not rising means that egg white have deflated. Possible that the folding and the beating of egg whites have problems. I have never heard of aerating mode of standing mixer.

      • This wasn’t my first attempt. It was the 5th one (I believe) that I made. The 1st cake that I made surprisingly turned out pretty well and considerably successful. I shall keep trying. Thanks Kenneth!

  3. Pingback: RECIPE INDEX ( Updated on 16 AUGUST 2014) | GUAI SHU SHU

  4. Pingback: RECIPE INDEX ( Updated on 13 March 2015) | GUAI SHU SHU

Leave a comment