Another No Frill Simple Basic Recipe–Sugar Rolls (瑞士糖卷)

IMG_77951

INTRODUCTION

I doubt if there is any one who does not like Swiss Rolls. I love Swiss Rolls, the simpler the better. Sugar rolls are always my choice when I buy Swiss rolls.0

IMG_78091

I have one post on Swiss rolls previously but as I have used the wrong baking tray, my Swiss rolls were rather thin and I have never ever promoted that post. However, if you are keen to have a look, you can refer to Vanilla Swiss Rolls.

IMG_77991

After that trial, I have decided to buy a tray specifically for Swiss roll. Today, I have tried another rather simple recipe from one of my favourite blogger, Aunty Yochana’s Sugar Roll Recipe recipe. Her Swiss Rolls look good and her ingredients and method are simple . That sums up the reason that I am trying out her recipe today.

IMG_78051

Yes, the recipe did not fail me. It yields a soft and fluffy Swiss Rolls that I am looking at. Kids were fighting for the Swiss rolls after I have ended my picture taking session.

IMG_77891

Some friends are telling me that their Swiss rolls always cracked and asked me for a reason. Very frankly, I do not know, most of my time, my Swiss rolls did not crack. Cracking, in my humble opinion, will mean the cake is too hard or dry and that could be due to: recipe problem, did not roll the cakes when hot to warm and finally, over bake the cake.

IMG_77871

I did not even take any special precautionary measure in rolling the cake. I just roll the cake as long as my hand can handle it. I found that the cake is rather spongy and easy to roll without much a problem.

IMG_78151

 


WHAT IS REQUIRED

Recipe adapted from : Aunty Yochana’s Sugar Roll Recipe

Servings: 9” x 12” baking tray of Swiss Roll

IMG_7753

  • 4 eggs – separated into egg yolks and egg whites
  • 100 grams of cake flour
  • 20 grams of condensed milk
  • 80 grams of icing sugar
  • 40 grams of corn oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla essence (optional)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • Additional icing sugar for dusting the Sugar rolls

Whipped Cream

  • 1/2 cups of fresh cream for whipping
  • 2 tablespoon of icing sugar

IMG_78111

 


STEPS OF PREPARATION

  • Pre-heat oven to 200 degree Celsius

  • Line a 9” x 12” baking tray with baking paper. Get another one more piece of paper which is about at least 2 cm longer than the first baking paper. Set aside for later use after the Swiss roll is baked.

IMG_7758

  • In a whisking bowl, put the egg whites. Beat the egg whites until foamy, gradually add in the icing sugar tablespoon by tablespoon. The egg white will expand and reach the soft to hard peak in 2-3 minutes. Add in the egg yolk one by one and follow by the condensed milk.  Beat for another 3-4 minutes.

PicMonkey Collage1

  • Stop the machine and sift the baking powder and cake flour into beaten eggs. Fold carefully until well mixed.  Add in the corn oil and fold in until well combined. Transfer the batter to the baking tin.

IMG_7768

  • Bake in the pre-heated oven of 200 degree Celsius for 10-12 minutes until the top turn golden brown. Meanwhile, get ready the other piece of baking paper, dust some icing sugar on top of the baking paper.

IMG_7774

  • After taking out from the oven, take out from the baking tin. Use something to level the cake if necessary.  Quickly turn the cake with the bottom of the cake facing you and placed the cake on top of the piece of baking paper dusted with icing sugar.. Tear off the first piece of baking paper. Take the width of the cake and roll the cake (like the way of rolling the Sushi) and make sure that the ending portion is facing downwards. Let it cool completely in this position. (Note that it is important that you do this as soon as the cake is out of oven and as soon as your hand can handle the heat from the cake. You can use a towel to roll together if you want. When the cake dries up, it will be difficult to roll.)

  • While the cake is cooling, beat the fresh cream with icing sugar until hard peak. Set aside for later use. Keep in the refrigerator if the cake is not ready and weather is hot.

IMG_7779

  • Once the cake is completely cooled, open the Swiss roll and spread the cream on the cake, roll it back and dust with additional icing sugar. Cut into 2 cm thick and  chilled the Swiss roll before serving if necessary.

IMG_77971

 


CONCLUSION

As you can see, I did not take precautionary measures in rolling the cake. Therefore, I believed that it is the credit of the recipe . The cake is very spongy, fine texture and easy to roll. Do give it a try and most important of all, roll your cake as soon as your hand can handle the heat when the cake is out of the oven.

IMG_77931

Hope you like the post today. Cheers and have a nice day.

IMG_78071


  • For more recipes, you can refer to my RECIPE INDEX (updated as at 21 March 2014)  here and you can follow me at PINTEREST or visit the blog’s FACEBOOK PAGE to keep abreast of my future posts.  

IMG_77831

27 thoughts on “Another No Frill Simple Basic Recipe–Sugar Rolls (瑞士糖卷)

  1. Hi Kenneth, if I want to make it into coffee swiss roll using your basic recipe, can I just add in the instant coffee with hot water mixture ?

  2. Pingback: RECIPE INDEX ( Updated on 8 June 2014) | GUAI SHU SHU

  3. Pingback: RECIPE INDEX ( Updated on 16 AUGUST 2014) | GUAI SHU SHU

  4. Hi Kenneth, what other type of cakes can be bake using this recipe, other than swiss roll ?
    Please advise, thank you.

  5. Pingback: RECIPE INDEX ( Updated on 13 March 2015) | GUAI SHU SHU

  6. I have that size of baking sheet 9″ x 12″ I always thought it’s too small for a Swiss Roll, so I never used it, I always use my 10″ x 15″ Thanks for your recommendation, now I can try baking your Swiss Roll using it.

Leave a comment