Classic Carrot Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting (红萝卜蛋糕)

IMG_8577

INTRODUCTION

I have prepared this carrot cake twice using two different recipes..

IMG_8561

The first recipe is from the net and it has the shape but i did not like the texture and I do not think my readers will like this type of dense texture.. It was very dense possibly because golden syrup was used and it took very long hours to bake and hence the crust is rather thick. Having said that, my family members still finished all possibly because of the delicious cream cheese frosting.

IMG_8565

Two days later that is today, i have decided to design a recipe of my own based on my carrot muffin recipe. In my humble opinion, it tastes much better and is very suitable for the cake. The only thing that can be further be improve is the doom shape of the cake. That possibly is due to my smaller pan used and I have to cut off the doom to level it. The cake is fluffier and overall, it just suits my taste buds,

IMG_8773

Therefore in this post, there are two sets of images but what I am sharing is my newer and better recipe. For traditional cake, I have opt to  use traditional rugged style of decoration and I never believed that it must be decorated with carrots made from fondant icing or butter cream.. By the same logic, is it not a sponge cake needs to be decorated using eggs or chocolate cake must be decorated with pieces of chocolate? Well, it is up to reader to decide but I have used some chopped pecan nuts for the topping which in my humble opinion is elegant and goes well with the cake.

IMG_8765


WHAT IS REQUIRED

Servings: Prepare an 8” diameter cake

IMG_87291

  • 150 grams of melted butter or cooking cooking oil
  • 150 grams of carrots (shredded)
  • 150 grams of brown sugar
  • 100 grams of self raising flour
  • 100 grams of plain flour
  • 100 grams of chopped walnuts or pecan nuts
  • 50 grams of fresh milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of mixed spice or cinnamon powder (optional)
  • 3 eggs

IMG_0924

  • 250 grams of cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 50 grams of butter, at room temperature
  • 250 grams of icing sugar
  • 2 teaspoons of milk
  • 1/2 teaspoons of lemon juice

  • Additional 1/2 cups of chopped pecan nuts or walnuts for decoration
  • Some additional mixed spices for decoration

IMG_8763


STEPS OF PREPARATION

  • Pre-heat the oven to 170 degree Celsius and lightly grease a 8” diameter round baking tin.

PicMonkey Collage1

  • Shred the carrots until fine and blend the pecan/walnuts until coarsely. Set aside.

  • In the bowl with shredded carrots, add the milk and lightly beaten eggs. Stir until well mixed. Add the brown sugar , stir until well combined.

PicMonkey Collage2

  • Sift in the dry ingredients (self raising flour, plain flour, cinnamon powder or mixed spices) into the wet ingredients bowl in three stages. Use a fork to swiftly and quickly fold it until well mixed. Transfer the batter to the lightly greased tin, level and bake in the pre-heat oven of 170 degree Celsius for about 45 minutes or when a skewer inserted comes out clean. Cool the cake completely before proceeding to the next step.

IMG_0929

  • Beat the cream cheese until light and fluffy. Add softened butter, beat until well combined. Add icing sugar follow by the milk and lemon juice. Beat for 2-3 minutes until well mixed.

PicMonkey Collage3

  • Take out the cake and cut into two equal halves. If there is a doom on the cake, slice it off if preferred. Apply generously the cream cheese frosting on top and the side of the cake. Sprinkle some additional mixed spices and chopped pecans/walnuts before serving. If the frosting is too soft, chill in the fridge for 15 minutes before application.

IMG_8567


CONCLUSION

This is a much simpler recipe that yields better taste and texture than the first recipe that I try. If you are looking for a carrot cake recipe, you may want to consider this simple recipe.

IMG_8563

Hope you like the post today. Cheers and have a nice day.

IMG_8767


For more recipes, you can refer to my RECIPE INDEX (updated as at 13 March 2015)  here and you can follow me at PINTEREST or visit the blog’s FACEBOOK PAGE to keep abreast of my future posts. Also follow me at INSTAGRAM or TSU, a new social network for some more personal sharing other than recipes.

food bloggers[4]

Food paradize[8]

You can also join the FOOD BLOGGERS AND FOODIES UNITED FACEBOOK GROUP and FOOD PARADISE 美食天堂 to see more recipes. I am posting my daily home cooked food in the above Facebook Group daily. I would be more than happy if you can  post in the Group for the recipes that you tried from my blog.

pinterest[4]

If you are a Pinterest user and you are interested to have more recipes, you can join or follow this Pinterest Board set up by me  where there are more than 2600 recipes worldwide and pinned by various bloggers: FOOD BLOGGERS AND FOODIES UNITED PINTEREST BOARD.

IMG_8575


2 thoughts on “Classic Carrot Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting (红萝卜蛋糕)

Leave a comment