Light Fruit Cake (轻杂果蛋糕)

IMG_2880

INTRODUCTION

I have a pack of dried fruits sitting in my shelves for a long time, by hook and by crook, I must get rid of it..

IMG_2894

Since I do not have a golden or light fruit cake recipe, I have decided to design a recipe…. What disappointed me is that I have only used on 1/3 of the fruits in my recipe… The outcome is my fruit cake have very little fruits and my kitchen still have another 160 grams of mixed fruit sitting there. What a blunder and it is best not to do any baking before I drink my morning coffee..

IMG_2856

Well there is no fault to the recipe and in fact the cake is delicious. Well, it is easy to imagine the taste, a butter cake with mixed fruits. In my case, since fruit is less, it will be more like a butter cake. Haha.

IMG_2872

Since I am still on my vegetarian diet, in this illustration, I did not use any alcohol. I used orange juice instead. Therefore, this recipe is equally applicable to Muslim readers.. If you preferred, you can substitute the orange juices with cherry wine or rum.

IMG_2898


WHAT IS REQUIRED

Servings: Prepare an 8” fruit cake

IMG_2841

  • 250 grams of butter, softened at room temperature
  • 250 grams of mixed fruits
  • 250 grams of castor sugar
  • 150 grams of self raising flour
  • 100 grams of plain four
  • 4 eggs lightly beaten
  • 50 grams or ml of fresh orange juice
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence

IMG_2900


STEPS OF PREPARATION

  • Pre-heat the oven to 160 degree Celsius.

PicMonkey Collage1

  • Soaked the mixed fruits in orange juices for 15 minutes, drain, collect the orange juice and set aside.

  • Cream the butter and sugar until light and creamy. Add eggs one by one , beating thoroughly after each addition. Scrap the sides to ensure that there is none stick to the bottom and the sides.

  • Fold in the soaked fruits, flour and collected orange juices in 3 stages until well combined. Folding shall be light and fast.

  • Bake in the pre-heated oven of 160 degree Celsius for 45 minutes to 1 hour or when a skewer inserted comes out clean. Cool in the tin for 20 minutes before turnout into a wire rack. Cool completely before cutting.

IMG_2852


CONCLUSION

If you follow the recipe exactly, your outcome will be difference from what you saw in the picture. you will have more fruits in the cake.  Hope this recipe will benefit those readers who are looking for a simple, fast and easy fruit cake recipes.

IMG_2892

Hope you like the post today. Cheers and have a nice day.

IMG_2896


  • For more recipes, you can refer to my RECIPE INDEX (updated as at 13 March 2015)  here and you can follow me at 

PINTEREST or visit the blog’s FACEBOOK PAGE to keep abreast of my future posts. Also follow me at INSTAGRAM or TSU, a new social network for some more personal sharing other than recipes.

food bloggers[4]

Food paradize[8]

pinterest[4]

  • If you are a Pinterest user and you are interested to have more recipes, you can join or follow this Pinterest Board set up by me  where there are more than 2600 recipes worldwide and pinned by various bloggers: FOOD BLOGGERS AND FOODIES UNITED PINTEREST BOARD.

IMG_2862


2 thoughts on “Light Fruit Cake (轻杂果蛋糕)

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving and Christmas 2015 Special Compilation (2015 圣诞节特别汇编) | GUAI SHU SHU

Leave a comment