Is This Cake Have Anything To Do With Puteri Radin Mas Ayu?–Puteri Ayu, Putu Ayu, Putri Ayu (椰丝小青糕)

IMG_48341

INTRODUCTION

This is a type of Indonesian and Malay steamed sponge cake that capture the hearts of many with its pandan and coconut aroma. It is usually crowned with shredded coconut.

IMG_48381

In Indonesia, it is mostly called Putu Ayu but in Malaysia and Singapore, it was called Puteri Ayu literally translated as  a beautiful, charming and attractive princess. Whether or not it is linked to Puteri Radin Mas Ayu, a legendary beautiful princess in Singapore history is unknown.. Possibly the steamed cake is beautiful and that is why it was called as such.  It is my speculation, no basis, bias and unfounded probably. Haha.

IMG_48401

Well, that is the most I can tell you about this cake. I am not only amazed by the unusual name of this cake, I am very surprise to find that Malay or Indonesian cakes in this shape. It look like a beautiful mini chiffon that have wedges at it sides. Why this shape? Is there a need for the cake to have this shape like chiffon? I have no answer. A traditional kuih muih or cake that have this unusual shape prepared using a special mould really amazed me.

IMG_48421

I was told that the mould can be readily obtained from night markets in West Malaysia. But in Singapore, I am totally unsure…And I have used my agar agar mould to prepare this.. Again, I did not buy these agar agar moulds, I collected from one of the gatherings provided by catering company that served dessert in this manner.. Don’t ask me if these dessert cups can withstand steaming? I do not know but I do know I will not steam this if not for purposes of this illustration. Otherwise, I will use cupcake mould for the cake.  In addition, the timing of steaming is extremely short.

IMG_48441

Hmmm, it was rather unfair for reader to invest one mould just for a particular bake, I then tried  out other agar agar mould. If you do not have, cupcakes cup is acceptable.

IMG_48501

Most recipe in the internet the use of ovalette, a type of yellow coloured sponge cake stabilizer to prepare this cake. But I have decided to shelf the idea of using this as it is not “trendy” any more in household baking unlike 2-0-30 years ago…instead, condensed milk was used..

IMG_48521

The verdict of the steamed cake is soft, spongy flavoured with coconut and pandan aroma. It is a nice cake eating on its own but added bits of slightly salty shredded coconut will heighten your palate to another level of enjoyment.

IMG_48321


WHAT IS REQUIRED

Servings: Prepare About 12 steamed cakes

IMG_4813

  • 100 grams of coconut milk
  • 100 grams of shredded coconut
  • 100 grams of self raising flour
  • 75 grams of castor sugar
  • 25 grams of condensed milk
  • 2 eggs
  • Pinches of salt
  • Few pieces of Pandanus leaf (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon of corn flour (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon of Pandan paste

IMG_48581


STEPS OF PREPARATION

  • Lightly grease the Puteri Ayu mould or other preferred mould.

IMG_4818

  • Mixed the shredded coconut, corn flour and salt. Steamed the mixture and some Pandanus leaves for about 10 minutes. Once steamed, put some shredded coconut in a mould, press as firmly as possible. Set aside for later use.

IMG_4823

  • Beat the egg until foamy, add sugar tablespoon by tablespoon until pale and volume expands. Add the condensed milk followed by the pandan paste. Add coconut milk gradually and beat until well combined.

IMG_4828

  • Sift in the flour and use a spatula to fold the flour until well mixed. Steam in the steamer for about 10-15 minutes. Dislodge the cake by using a tooth pick at the sizes of the mould.

  • Best served with additional shredded coconut as a snack or dessert.

IMG_48461


CONCLUSION

Not a difficult cake to prepare but it is  a cake with awesome taste. If you don’t like coconut, eating the cake on is own is equally delicious.

IMG_48621

Hope you like the post today. Cheers and have a nice day.

IMG_48601


  • For more recipes, you can refer to my RECIPE INDEX (updated as at 28 July 2014)  here and you can follow me at PINTEREST or visit the blog’s FACEBOOK PAGE to keep abreast of my future posts.  

IMG_48661

7 thoughts on “Is This Cake Have Anything To Do With Puteri Radin Mas Ayu?–Puteri Ayu, Putu Ayu, Putri Ayu (椰丝小青糕)

  1. Pingback: RECIPE INDEX ( Updated on 14 OCTOBER 2014) | GUAI SHU SHU

  2. 中文食谱是google翻译的吧?词不达意,而且问题重重。例如:“新闻界紧紧地”应该是直接从“press hard”翻译的吧?应该译作紧紧压实。诸类问题很多,请留意。谢谢~

  3. Thank you Kenneth for providing us with this awesome recipe and for all your wonderful and delicious creations and concoctions. You’re a kitchen genius! I’ll be trying this soon. I don’t have the access to fresh shredded coconut and pandan leaves but I’ll try using the store-bought shredded coconut w/c is already sweetened packed in plastic bags and pandan paste. I’ve been looking for a good base for “puto” as we call it back in our country (Philippines).

  4. Pingback: Puteri Ayu | Baking Language

  5. Pingback: Rainbow Steamed Sponge Cake (彩虹椰奶鸡蛋糕) | GUAI SHU SHU

Leave a comment