Cranberry Cream Cheese Bread (蔓梅奶酪面包)

IMG_74961

INTRODUCTION

I had always wanted to prepare this bread but I have never take a move to prepare it as I have either forget to buy cream cheese or cranberries. Since I have both items at home yesterday, I have decided to give it a try.

IMG_74841

In the internet, most recipes have called for the use of tangzhong (water roux method). However, I am rather reluctant to try since I prefer a simpler recipe. In the process of searching, I have stumbled across this rather quick recipe with simpler ingredients and method… 

IMG_74821

When I was preparing the bread, I knew it will be a soft bread. For the first proofing, it requires to proof until 3 times bigger. In addition, the bread dough is very sticky and shaping handling is quite a challenge. But when I took the first bite, it confirmed that it is a very fluffy soft bread, resembled those that I have purchased from the famous bakery chains Bread Talk or Barcook Bakery.

IMG_74681

As the original recipe requires about 250 grams of cream cheese, what I have on hand is only about 120 grams of cream cheese, therefore some of the buns have no fillings in it.. I thought it might also good to prepare the buns to show readers how the fluffy the buns are.

IMG_74941

IMG_74701


WHAT IS REQUIRED

Recipe adopted from : Cream Cheese Bread

Servings: About 15-16 pieces

IMG_7429

  • 300 grams of bread flour
  • 200 grams of top flour or cake flour or pao flour
  • 250 grams or ml of lukewarm water.
  • 20 grams of milk powder
  • 100 grams of castor sugar
  • 100 grams of butter or margarine
  • 5 grams of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 packet of instant yeast (11 grams)
  • 60 grams of cranberries (soaked)

Fillings

  • 250 grams of cream cheese (at room temperature)
  • 150 grams of condensed milk (substitute with 100 grams of icing sugar)

IMG_74641


STEPS OF PREPARATION

PicMonkey Collage1

  • Put all dry ingredients  (except butter) in the mixing bowl, use a tablespoon to stir and make a well in the centre. Crack the egg and put in the lukewarm water. Use the tablespoon to stir until a sticky dough is form. Transfer to the mixer with a dough hook, beat the dough at medium speed until the dough are smooth (about 5-6 minutes). Add in the soften butter, beat using high speed until the dough leaves the side of the mixing bowl (about 10 minutes). Add in the cranberry and “beat” until well mixed (about 1-2 minutes).

  • Transfer the dough to a flat floured surface, lightly knead until it is smooth. Proof in a greased bowl until it is TRIPLE in size (it took me about 40 minutes in the hot morning). Note that this dough is rather sticky, if it is difficult to handle, add in bread flour tablespoon by tablespoon until you can shape the dough.

IMG_7441

  • While your dough is proofing, cream the cream cheese until light and fluffy. Add in condensed milk and beat until well combined. Chilled in the refrigerator. Chilling is to facilitate the wrapping process. After you beat the cream cheese, please take some and taste if it suits your taste bud. You can either add some castor sugar or more condensed milk if you found that it is not sweet enough.

PicMonkey Collage2

  • Once the first proofing is done, transfer out to the floured surface, divide the dough into 75 grams per bread (or your desired size). Lightly knead the dough, flatten it using a rolling pin. Put 1-2 tablespoons of cream cheese on the dough, seal the edges and use the rolling pin to flatten the dough as flat and as round as possible. Transfer to the greased baking tray and let it proof until double in size. Leaves adequate space for the expansion. 

  • Pre-heat the oven to 190 degree Celsius.

  • Once the second proofing is done, bake in the oven for about 15 minutes or until the top of the bread turns golden brown. (Subsequent to the issuance of this post, some readers have highlighted that in order to make it flat, topped the tray with the dough with another baking tray, as such, the dough will not rise above the height of the baking tray. In this case, you will need to grease the bottom of the top baking tray).

IMG_74981


CONCLUSION

This is a rather simple recipe except the dough is slightly soft and more difficult to handle. Add more flour if you feel that it is too sticky. Do give it a try and let me know about the outcome of your bakes.

IMG_74661

Hope you like the post today. Cheers and have a nice day.

IMG_74721


  • For more recipes, you can refer to my RECIPE INDEX (updated as at 21 March 2014)  here and you can follow me at PINTEREST or visit the blog’s FACEBOOK PAGE to keep abreast of my future posts.  

IMG_74601

40 thoughts on “Cranberry Cream Cheese Bread (蔓梅奶酪面包)

  1. Hi, I just tried baking this. I love the taste and the soft texture of the bun!
    But my cream cheese filling is powdery instead of creamy, is it my oven too hot?
    And my bun is a lot “fatter” , not flat at all.
    Nonetheless, the taste is really fantastic, I will try baking again. Thanks!,

  2. I tried out your cranberry cream cheese recipe. Thumbs up.
    However, my buns are puff up and not as pretty as yours 😬

  3. Hi, I would like to seek advice. I’ve tried your receipe of cranberry bread. I’ve used cake flour and bread flour combi and after bake the bread is abit hard not as soft. Kindly advice what’s thr problem?

  4. Hi,I tried this bun in Singapore and absolutely loved it. I definitely want to try to make it at home.What type of cranberries exactly do you use? Dried sweetened cranberries or fresh?

  5. Made them last night for breakfast the next morning!
    Was wondering how to store it actually!
    Since there’s cream cheese will it be neves dart to store it in the freezer if not consumed immediately?
    How long can it keep outside at room temperature?

    • Usually one recipe is not many pieces and kids like to eat. Within 2 days we finish all. I put at room temperature and never encounter problem. If your family is small, suggest half the recipe.

  6. Pingback: Cream cheese bun | carlalily

  7. Pingback: My cranberry cream cheese bun | carlalily

  8. I’ve made these today and they are absolutely fantastic! The buns are indeed fluffy! Thank you for sharing this recipe. 🙂

    • I think it is easier if you get kitchen weighing scale … and the calibration are more precise. Otherwise you have to google for conversion like = 1– grams equal to ?? tablespoon of flour

  9. Hi Kenneth
    Would really like to know whats the purpose of milk powder in this bread that it can actually substitute by adding more flour as mentioned by you. Do u think I can use Happy Call to “bake” it ?

      • Ho Kenneth. Thanks for your reply. Baked this today using oven. Taste is good but didnt have another tray to put on top of the dough and thus they look like buns rather than ah bian :p will perfect it and update.

Leave a comment